Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

Massachusetts Partial-Birth Abortion Ban (H 926)

This law was last updated on Apr 18, 2019


This law is Anti–Choice

State

Massachusetts

Number

H 926

Status

Failed to Pass

Proposed

Jan 23, 2017

Sponsors

Co-sponsors: 4
Primary Sponsors: 1
Total Sponsors: 5

Topics

Partial Birth Abortion Bans

Full Bill Text

malegislature.gov

H 926 would ban partial-birth abortions in the state of Massachusetts.  Under this law, any person who intentionally causes the death of a living intact fetus while that living intact fetus is partially born, would be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $2,000, or by imprisonment of not less than three months nor more than five years, or by both said fine and imprisonment.  The mother of the living intact fetus would not be allowed to be prosecuted.

H 926 would not apply to sharp curettage or suction curettage abortion, nor would it prohibit a physician from taking necessary measures to save the pregnant individual’s life.

Related Legislation

Similar to H1441 and H 1538 (2015), and H 1452 (2013), all of which failed to pass.


People