Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

Washington Parental Notification of Abortion Act (SB 5156)

This law was last updated on Dec 18, 2016


This law is Anti–Choice

State

Washington

Number

SB 5156

Status

Failed to Pass

Proposed

Jan 21, 2013

Sponsors

Co-sponsors: 16
s: 1
Primary Sponsors: 1
Total Sponsors: 18

Topics

Parental Involvement

Full Bill Text

lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov

SB 5156 would have required physicians or medical personnel to provide at least 48 hours direct notice to one parent or guardian of a minor of his/her intention of performing an abortion.  If a parent or guardian could not be reached directly, the person or his/her agent must have given 48 hours constructive notice (certified mail).

Notice would not have been required if the attending physician certified that there was a medical emergency and there was insufficient time to provide the required notice.

SB 5156 would have required a monthly report indicating the number of notices issued, number of times an exception was issued, the type of exception, the pregnant woman’s age, and the number of prior pregnancies and prior abortions of the pregnant woman.  The report would have been filed with the Health Department on an annual basis and made available to the public.

A pregnant woman would have been able to petition any superior court to have the notice requirement waived.  If the court found that the pregnant woman was sufficiently mature and well-informed, or a victim of physical or sexual abuse, they could have issued an order authorizing the pregnant woman to consent to the abortion without the required parental notification.

If anyone performed an abortion without performing the required notification, they would have been guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

 


People