South Carolina Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act 2015 (S 28)

This law was last updated on Jan 6, 2015


State

South Carolina

Number

S 28

Status

Proposed

Proposed

Dec 3, 2014

Topics

20-Week Bans, Later Abortion, Physicians Reporting Requirements, Reporting Requirements

Full Bill Text

www.scstatehouse.gov

S 28 would have banned abortions at 20 weeks post-fertilization unless, in the physician’s reasonable medical judgment, an abortion is necessary to avert the woman’s death or a serious risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function, other than a psychological condition.

The bill states that an abortion does not become necessary if the risk of death or a substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function arises from a claim or diagnosis that the woman will engage in conduct that may result in her death or in substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function.

The bill states that abortions performed after 20 weeks must be performed in a manner that provides the best opportunity for the “unborn child” to survive.

The bill includes legislative findings based on junk science that a fetus can feel pain at 20 weeks.

The bill states that the purpose of the 20-week ban is to “assert a compelling state interest in protecting the lives of unborn children from the stage at which substantial medical evidence indicates that they are capable of feeling pain.”

Physician Reporting Requirements

Abortion providers would have been required to report certain information to the state department of health, including:

  • if the determination of probable post-fertilization age was made, what was determined, and how it was determined;
  • if a determination of probable post-fertilization age was not made, why not—what was the basis for a determination that a medical emergency existed;
  • if the probable post-fertilization age was 20 weeks or more, the basis for a determination that a medical condition necessitated an immediate abortion to avert the woman’s death or serious injury;
  • the method used for the abortion;
  • age of the patient;
  • if the probable post-fertilization age was 20 weeks or more and an abortion was performed, whether the method performed provided the best opportunity for the “unborn child” to survive, and if not, why not.

Reporting Requirements

By June 30 of each year, the state health department would have been required to issue a public report providing statistics compiled from all the reports provided by physicians.

STATUS

Similar to S 25S 130, and H 3114.

Similar to S 626 and H 4223, which failed to pass in 2013 and 2014, respectively.


People