Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

New Mexico Woman’s Informed Decision Act (SB 652)

This law was last updated on Mar 4, 2015


SUMMARY

SB 652 would enact the Woman’s Informed Decision Act. The bill would (1) specify requirements for informed consent including information that a physician must provide to a woman before consent will be considered “informed”; (2) mandate an ultrasound; (3) require a patient to certify that she has been given the required information; (4) mandate the development and maintenance of a New Mexico Department of Health website to provide required information to a pregnant woman; (5) mandate certain physician reporting requirements; and (6) require the state health department to annually report statistics on informed consent for abortion.

Informed Consent

The bill would prohibit abortion except with the voluntary and informed consent of the woman. Except in cases of medical emergency, consent would be voluntary and informed if the physician informs the woman of (1) the name of the doctor who will perform the abortion; (2) the medical risks associated with the procedure, including when medically accurate, the risks of infection, hemorrhage, breast cancer, danger to subsequent pregnancies, and infertility; (3) the probable gestational age of the fetus; (4) and the medical risks of carrying a pregnancy to term.

The bill would also require the physician performing the abortion (or the physician’s agent) to inform the woman at least 24 hours prior to the abortion that: (1) specified types of medical assistance benefits may be available to her; (2) the father is liable for child support; (3) she has the right to view printed state materials, which are also accessible on the Internet, describing the fetus and listing agencies that offer abortion alternatives.

An increase in risk of breast cancer is not supported by medical research. In fact, a new study confirms that there is no causative link between abortion and breast cancer. Given that this bill states that such information should be provided “when medically accurate,” ostensibly, an abortion provider would not be required to inform a woman that abortion increases the risk of breast cancer. Nevertheless, the bill language is vague at best.

Counseling/Waiting Period

The bill states that the required information must be given to the woman by telephone or in person at least 24 hours before the abortion. The information cannot be given by audio recording; the woman must be able to ask questions of the provider.

The bill would also require that the woman certify in writing that the information has been provided and that she has been provided an opportunity to review the printed state materials.

Ultrasound Requirement

The bill would require the physician performing the abortion or a certified technician to: (1) perform an ultrasound using whichever method the physician and patient agree is best under the circumstances; (2) provide a simultaneous verbal explanation of what is depicted on the ultrasound images; (3) display the ultrasound images to the pregnant woman; (4) provide a medical description of the ultrasound images; (5) provide an opportunity for the pregnant woman to hear the fetal heartbeat as well as an oral explanation of it.

The bill states that the ultrasound would have to be completed prior to a woman giving informed consent and prior to administering any anesthesia or other medication in preparation for the abortion.

The bill would allow a woman to avert her eyes to avoid viewing the ultrasound images, and to refuse to listen to the fetal heartbeat.

This bill would not require a transvaginal ultrasound considering the language that the ultrasound should be performed using whichever method the physician and patient agree is best.

Medical Emergencies

In cases of medical emergency, the physician would be required to inform the patient if possible of the medical indications supporting the physician’s judgment that an abortion is necessary to avert her death, and that a 24-hour delay will create serious risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function, not including psychological or emotional conditions.

Physician Reporting Requirements

The bill would require physicians to report information regarding, among other things, the number of women who were provided state-sanctioned information pursuant to the Woman’s Right to Know Act, how that information was provided (in person or by telephone), who provided it, and how many abortion resulted from medical emergencies.

Reporting Requirements

By June 30 of each year, the state health department would be required to issue a public report providing statistics compiled from all the reports provided by physicians.

Criminal Penalties

The bill states that a violation of the informed consent and ultrasound provisions would be a felony, and a violation of the reporting requirements would be a misdemeanor.

STATUS

Similar to HB 122, which failed to pass in 2013.

 


People

Primary Sponsor