Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

Minnesota ‘Unborn Child Protection from Dismemberment Abortion Act’ (HF 3849)

This law was last updated on Jun 28, 2016


This law is Anti–Choice

State

Minnesota

Number

HF 3849

Status

Failed to Pass

Proposed

Apr 7, 2016

Sponsors

Co-sponsors: 34
Primary Sponsors: 1
Total Sponsors: 35

Topics

Dilation and Evacuation Bans

Full Bill Text

wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us

HF 3849 would prohibit any person from purposely performing or attempting to perform a “dismemberment abortion” unless it is necessary to prevent a serious health risk to the pregnant patient.

The bill defines “dismemberment abortion” as the purpose of causing the death of an “unborn child” purposely to dismember a “living unborn child” and extract the “living unborn child” one piece at a time from the uterus through the use of clamps, grasping forceps, tongs, scissors, or similar instruments that, through the convergence of two rigid levers, slice, crush, or grasp a portion of the “unborn child’s body” to cut or rip it off.

No woman upon whom an abortion is performed or attempted to be performed would be liable for performing or attempting to perform a “dismemberment abortion.”

Any person that violates this provision may face a $10,000 fine and/or imprisonment up to two years, as well as injunctive relief and civil damages.

This law targets a procedure known as dilation and evacuation (D and E), which is frequently used during second-trimester abortions. According to the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, an abortion using suction aspiration can be performed up to 14 weeks’ gestation, but after 14 weeks the D and E procedure must be used to perform an abortion. As such, dilation and evacuation bans, depending upon their language, may ban all surgical abortion past 14 weeks’ gestation. (Source.)

STATUS

Companion bill to SF 3487.


People