Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

Michigan ‘Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act’ (SB 165)

This law was last updated on Apr 24, 2019


This law is Anti–Choice

State

Michigan

Number

SB 165

Status

Proposed

Proposed

Mar 5, 2019

Topics

20-Week Bans

Full Bill Text

www.legislature.mi.gov

SB 165 would prohibit abortion after 20 weeks, unless it’s necessary to save the life of the pregnant person.

The bill would require a physician to first determine the probable post-fertilization age of the fetus before attempting to perform an abortion. If it’s determined that the fetus has a probable post-fertilization age of 20 or more weeks, any attempt to perform an abortion would be prohibited.

Any person who violates this law would be guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment up to 15 years and/or a fine of up to $7,500.


Related Legislation

Tie-barred with SB 166.

Similar to HB 4851/HB 4852, which failed to pass in 2015.


Latest Action

3/5/19 – Introduced; referred to Senate Health Policy and Human Services Committee.


People