Michigan Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act (HB 4851)

This law was last updated on Nov 18, 2015


This law is Anti–Choice

State

Michigan

Number

HB 4851

Status

Proposed

Proposed

Sep 10, 2015

Topics

20-Week Bans, Later Abortion

Full Bill Text

www.legislature.mi.gov

HB 4851 would prohibit abortions after 20 weeks, unless it is to save the life of the mother.

Under this law, a physician would be required to first determine the probable post-fertilization age of the fetus. If it is determined that the fetus is has a probable post-fertilization age of 20 or more weeks, any attempt to perform an abortion would be prohibited.

Any person that violates this law would be guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment up to 15 years and/or a fine of up to $7,500.

STATUS

Sentencing guidelines for this law are detailed in companion bill, HB 4852.


People