Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

Massachusetts Partial Birth Abortion Ban (H 1441)

This law was last updated on Oct 24, 2017


State

Massachusetts

Number

H 1441

Status

Failed to Pass

Proposed

Mar 10, 2015

Sponsors

Co-sponsors: 8
Primary Sponsors: 1
Total Sponsors: 9

Topics

Partial Birth Abortion Bans

Full Bill Text

malegislature.gov

H 1441 would ban partial-birth abortions in the state of Massachusetts.  Under this law, any person who intentionally causes the death of a living intact fetus while that living intact fetus is partially born, would be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $2,000, or by imprisonment of not less than three months nor more than five years, or by both said fine and imprisonment.  The mother of the living intact fetus would not be allowed to be prosecuted.

H 1441 would not apply to sharp curettage or suction curettage abortion, nor would it prohibit a physician from taking necessary measures to save the pregnant woman’s life.

STATUS

Similar to H 1538.

Similar to H 1452, which failed to pass the previous session.


People